Call for papers

(Papers have been selected)

Fourth International Conference
on Meaning-Text Theory (MTT’09)

June 16-18, 2009
Université de Montréal
Montreal (Quebec) CANADA

Meeting description

Meaning-Text Theory is a comprehensive linguistic theory characterized in particular by the central position accorded to semantics and the lexicon, the importance of communicative/information structure, and the reliance on dependencies at all levels of linguistic representation. Over the last four decades, Meaning-Text Theory has been applied to research in a wide variety of fields, including morphological and syntactic theory, lexicography, semantic representations, natural language processing (in particular machine translation and text generation) and language learning and teaching.

This is the fourth in a series of conferences that aims at bringing together researchers working in Meaning-Text Theory and other related approaches.

MTT’09 will be held in conjunction with the Workshop on Terminology and Lexical Semantics (June 19, 2009).


Submissions are invited in any area of theoretical, computational and applied linguistics within the scope of the conference. Graduate students are especially encouraged to submit. Papers will be allotted 30 minutes (20 minutes for presentation + 10 minutes for discussion). The conference will also include a poster session.

Submission format

Submissions, in English or French, should take the format of a paper of 8 to 10 pages in length. For formatting guidelines and submission instructions, please consult the Submissions page on the conference web site.

Publication of the proceedings

An electronic publication of the conference proceedings is foreseen.

Important dates

  • Submission deadline : March 1, 2009
  • Notification of acceptance: April 1, 2009
  • Final version due : May 7, 2009
  • Conference : June 16-18, 2009

Keynote speakers

  • Juri Apresjan, Russian Language Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Robert Van Valin, University of Buffalo & Heinrich Heine University of Düsseldorf

Local organization chair

  • Alain Polguère, Université de Montréal

Program chairs

  • David Beck, University of Alberta
  • Jasmina Milićević, Dalhousie University

Program committee

  • Margarita Alonso Ramos, University of Coruña
  • Valentina Apresjan, Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Lorraine Baqué, Autonomous University of Barcelona
  • David Beck, University of Alberta
  • Igor Boguslavskij, Russian Academy of Sciences and Polytechnical University of Madrid
  • Gaétane Dostie, Université de Sherbrooke
  • Thierry Fontenelle, Microsoft Natural Language Group
  • Bernard Fradin, Université Paris 7
  • Kim Gerdes, Université Paris 3
  • Marie-Josée Hamel, Dalhousie University
  • Eva Hajičová, Charles University
  • Lee Seong Heon, Seoul National University
  • Leonid Iomdin, Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Lidija Iordanskaja, Université de Montréal
  • Sylvain Kahane, Université Paris 10
  • Richard Kittredge, CoGenTex Inc.
  • George Kleiber, University Marc Bloch
  • Irina Levontina, Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Marie-Claude L’Homme, Université de Montréal
  • Igor Mel’čuk, Université de Montréal
  • Jasmina Milićević, Dalhousie University
  • Alain Polguère, Université de Montréal
  • Owen Rambow, Columbia University
  • Tilmann Reuther, University of Klagenfurt
  • Agnès Tutin, University Stendhal-Grenoble 3
  • Serge Verlinde, Université catholique de Louvain
  • Leo Wanner, University Pompeu Fabra
  • Daniel Weiss, University of Zurich

Further information on the conference, as well as travel to and accommodation in Montreal will soon be available at the conference website.

Inquiries about local arrangements should be addressed to Alain Polguère, and questions concerning paper submission to David Beck or Jasmina Milićević.

We are looking forward to seeing you in Montreal.